Los Angeles, CA (June 4, 2019) - Craft Recordings is pleased to announce the first-ever vinyl pressing of Much The Same’s 2006 album, Survive, available June 14th as an independent retail exclusive via ThinkIndie. This annoucment is coming just as the band prepares to release their third LP, Everything is Fine, this July.

Lead singer and guitarist, Chris “Gunner” McGrath states: "We are so excited that after years of requests pouring in, Survive is finally available on vinyl as we had always hoped it would be. This is the album that defined our band and kept growing our fan base during the years we were apart. Huge thanks to Craft Recordings and Nitro for still being behind us and believing in the music we created together!"

Described by Punk News as “It's not 2006 nitro-style punk, it's just damn good music,” the album finds the Chicago band foraying into political songwriting and experimenting with guitar textures that are closer to a straightforward rock sound than anything they’ve done before, giving the album a timeless sonic quality. Regardless of the fact that they were on the cusp of a breakup, Survive is a bold statement from a band that refuses to be tied down by the norms of punk rock while simultaneously creating one of the most visionary albums of the genre that came out in the 2000’s.

Reunited in 2015 after an eight-year hiatus, Chicago’s Much The Same continues carrying the torch of aggressive, melodic skate punk. Originally formed in 1999, the band quickly gained popularity in the Chicago punk scene, and eventually broke into national and international awareness with their Quitters Never Win album in 2003 (A-F Records) and Survive in 2006 (Nitro Records). Though the band broke up in 2007, word of mouth continued to grow their fan base throughout the world.

Much The Same now celebrates their 20-year anniversary and guitarist Dan O’Gorman’s recent victory over cancer by releasing their third full-length album, Everything is Fine, this summer.

Track Listing:

Side A:

1. The Greatest Betrayal

2. American Idle

3. Gut Shot

4. What I Know

5. Take What's Yours

Side B:

1. Skeletons

2. For Those Left Behind

3. Living a Lie

4. Stitches

5. Wrecking Ball

6. Picking Up the Shattered Pieces

Pick up a copy of Survive on vinyl at your local record store and click here to stream.

About Craft Recordings:

Craft Recordings is home to one of the largest and most prestigious collections of master recordings and compositions in the world. It's rich and storied repertoire includes legendary artists such as Joan Baez, Ray Charles, John Coltrane, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Miles Davis, Bill Evans, Vince Guaraldi, John Lee Hooker, Little Richard, Nine Inch Nails, Thelonious Monk, Otis Redding, R.E.M. and Traveling Wilburys, to name just a few. Renowned imprints with catalogs issued under the Craft banner include Concord, Fania, Fantasy, Milestone, Musart, Nitro, Prestige, Riverside, Rounder, Specialty, Stax, Sugar Hill, Vanguard and Vee-Jay Records, among many others. Craft creates thoughtfully curated packages, with a meticulous devotion to quality and a commitment to preservation-ensuring that these recordings endure for new generations to discover. Craft Recordings is the catalog label team for Concord Music. For more info, visit and follow on FacebookTwitterInstagram, YouTube, and Spotify.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All