Earlier this year when the Prince of Darkness announced the start of his final tour, ‘No More Tours 2’, I decided that it would only be right to commemorate Osbourne’s iconic and legendary career in some way. During a conversation with my dad (who is even more rock obsessed than me and has been following Ozzy's career for decades now), I decided that I would revisit and review each and every one of his records (in reverse), starting from 2010’s ‘Scream’ all the way back to Ozzy’s 1980 debut ‘Blizzard of Ozz' to show how Ozzy's music has developed from his most recent works, all the way back to without a doubt one of the pinnacles and peaks of his career.

So, first up in this new series is a review of Osbourne’s 2010 release, ‘Scream.


Ozzy Osbourne — vocals.

Gus G — guitars.

Rob “Blasko” Nicholson — bass.

Adam Wakeman — keyboards.

Kevin Churko — drums, percussion.

2010's 'Scream' is the only Ozzy Osbourne record to feature guitarist Gus G, who replaced legendary player Zakk Wylde. The album opens up with the track, “Let It Die”, followed by one of the bigger singles on the record, “Let Me Hear You Scream.” I would definitely describe this record to be more of an industrial-rock sounding record.

Although the album is on the “heavier” side of Ozzy’s discography, one of my biggest complaints is that as the record continues on, all of the songs are almost identical. Even though when listening to an album there is usually a specific sound that carries through the span of the record, there is some sort of variation to keep listeners interested. On this record, there hardly seems to be any variations or contrast that we've seen previously on some of Ozzy's best work. (Take the contrast between tracks like "Crazy Train" and "Goodbye To Romance" for instance). The same heavy riffs, and pretty much all of the tunes but two or three have a somewhat slow, eerie intro and then break into something heavier. Also, after reading what other journalists had to say about this record upon it's release eight years ago, one of the biggest turn-off's was the overuse of 'robotic' editing of Ozzy's vocals. This is especially seen on the verses during the opening track "Let It Die" and can be heard throughout the backing vocals on other tracks as well.

Gus G, known best for his time in the Power Metal band Firewind, as mentioned previously was the player on this record. Although I full believe Gus G is incredibly talented in his own right, I also believe that his sound for this album was more of a recreation of Zakk Wylde's tone and style rather than focusing on what Gus' unique sound could bring to the record. If that was what Ozzy and his team were looking for, they should've just stuck with Wylde who can [obviously] recreate his own sound like no other.

I in no way think this album is dreadful. I do think this album isn't a bad record to revisit every once and a while, but all in all in my personal opinion (I hope you don't find too harsh) is that the record itself its not very memorable. Other than "Let Me Hear You Scream" (which did reach number one on the US Mainstream Rock Tracks chart), no songs stand out as trademark Ozzy Osbourne tracks. Although I do have to say one of my personal favorites off the album if I had to choose would have to be "Time." It's more of a slower, more melodic tune which isn't felt very much on this release and is definitely up my alley. The more I listen, the more I gravitate to that track and would say it's definitely one of the best on the entire record. To me, it's the most reminiscent of Ozzy's earlier works.

HIGHLIGHTS: "Let Me Hear You Scream", "Time".

RATING: 🤘🏼🤘🏼🤘🏼/ 5.


1. Let It Die

2. Let Me Hear You Scream

3. Soul Sucker

4. Life Won't Wait

5. Diggin' Me Down

6. Crucify

7. Fearless

8. Time

9. I Want It More

10. Latimer's Mercy

11. I Love You All

(Expanded Edition Includes):

12. Hand Of The Enemy

13. One More Time

14. Jump The Moon

Go ahead, give this record a listen, and feel free to leave a comment below of your own take on Ozzy Osbourne's 2010 release, 'Scream'!

COMING SOON... a review of Ozzy's 2007 release, 'Black Rain.'

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All