BAPTISTS To Release Third Album, Beacon Of Faith, Via Southern Lord On May 25th; New Track "Capsule"

Vancouver's BAPTISTS announce their third full-length album, Beacon Of Faith, now confirmed for release through Southern Lord on May 25th. The album's brooding "Capsule" has been made available for streaming.

Beacon Of Faith broadly follows the same trajectory as the album's predecessors, Bushcraft (2013) and Bloodmines (2014) - combining the style of raw adrenaline-fueled emotion, venomous vocal delivery, gigantic guitar sound, and a visceral rhythmic propulsion - a sonic manifestation of desolate rage, bolstered by a palpable sense of urgency. The album is densely-packed, yet BAPTISTS' sound is far from claustrophobic. There is melody amongst the dissonance, as the band more deeply explore the noise rock vistas that have always underpinned their sound.

Lyrics are drawn from the members' direct experience of a broken society and general discontentment with everyday life. A multitude of issues are in the firing line, from the Canadian court system, issues surrounding substance abuse, mental health, and how the more fortunate, "tend to dismiss people who have been dealt a less-fortunate hand," as guitarist Danny also reflects.

Beacon Of Faith was recorded at Godcity in Salem, Massachusetts with Kurt Ballou in July 2017, and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege in Portland, Oregon.

Hear BAPTISTS' "Capsule" now at THIS LOCATION.

Southern Lord will release Beacon Of Faith on all formats on May 25th; watch for additional updates in the weeks ahead.

"Capsule" Lyrics:

Passing cheeks

A faucet's drip

The right amount to

Anoint the pit


Prevents the clunk

But I want to feel it

As it goes down

Taste what's going to move me

Before I

Have fucking changed

The tablet drops

An essence seeps

Past consumption

Post misuse


Informed conceit

A planned reprieve

From culture's feats

Beacon Of Faith Track Listing:

1. Worse Than Hate

2. Absolved Of Life/Spent Cells

3. Beacon Of Faith

4. Gift Taker

5. Capsule

6. Outbreeding

7. Vicarious Trauma

8. Victim Services

9. Indigo Child

10. Eulogy Template

11. Bevel Down

12. Carbide

13. Nostrovia


Andrew Drury - vocals

Danny Marshall - guitar

Sean Hawryluk - bass

Nick Yacyshyn - drums

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All